What is "Mark to Market" anyway?

I was so impressed with this blogger Destor23’s post about the method of “Mark to Market” accounting, and how it impacts the banking industry, that I am linking to it here.

A very clear, economical, and well crafted piece. I landed there via google, while trying to improve upon my vague understanding about what MTM actually is, and to confirm my intuitive understanding about how short-sighted it will be to make reforms, which in effect, amounts to nothing more than “looking the other way” while our shady asset problem continues to get swept under the rug.

The article really helped me check these items off my list, so I felt compelled to share it with my readers too.

This entry was posted in market outlook, observations and opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

